Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (SEPTA) serves the combined city and County of Philadelphia and the surrounding counties of Delaware, Montgomery, Bucks and Chester. SEPTA also serves New Castle County, Delaware and Mercer County, New Jersey.SEPTA operates bus, subway, elevated rail, commuter rail, light rail and electric trolley buses that serve the 3.9 million residents.


  • 6th largest US transit system by ridership
  • 2,295 revenue vehicles
  • 280 active station
  • 300+ million trips annually

SEPTA Transit Police Force

Nearly 260 sworn officers serve and protect within the 2,200 square-mile SEPTA service area. There are seven patrol zones, allowing officers to easily respond to emergencies while empowering them to quickly make decisions and address local issues. The Transit Police Department extends beyond the regular beat with units of specially trained officers. These units receive an additional level of training and provide specialized support in policing a public transit system.